San Piero, a hill town 225 m above the sea level. The granite quarries, extracted since ancient times and which we find in abundance in the streets of the small town, are renowned throughout the island. About three kilometers from San Piero, on the road to M. Perone , we find the remains of the Romanesque church and the Tower of San Giovanni .















Church of San Nicolò di San Piero
The church of San Nicolò is located in piazzale belvedere or Facciatoja in San Piero.
Originally dedicated to Saints Peter and Paul, it would have been built in the 7th century on the remains of a Roman temple, dedicated to the God Glaucus (god of the sea, protector of sailors). 52511 “> Elban Romanesque , but it is unique for its plan with two naves, separated by three arches set on columns.
Inside its particular structure, we find some 15th century frescoes.
The church in the fifteenth century was incorporated between the two bastions of a fortress .
Oratory of San Piero built by the Spaniards
The Oratory of San Rocco was built in 1631 (engraving on the granite portal AD MDCXXXI) it is said by the Spaniards that they had taken control of the island, including San Piero (except Cosmopoli) starting from 1600. At that time there were no buildings outside the medieval walls that enclosed the town of San Piero, except for the Pieve di S Giovanni from the 12th century.
Parish church of San Giovanni
The Pieve di San Giovanni Battista, is located on the road that leads from San Piero to Monte Perone ; it is the main of the 16 Romanesque churches that were built on the island of Elba between the 11th and 12th centuries. The church built in the countryside as was often the case for the churches erected in that historical period, was built with sturdy blocks of granite, coming from the nearby San Piero quarry.
Square at the Fonte
Church of S Nicolò and Pisan Fortress